October 22, 2016
        Hollywood Contenders: New Oscar Predictions for October                Nicole Kidman, Hugh Grant, Naomie Harris, Lily Collins get Honors at 20th Annual Hollywood Film Awards                "Manchester by the Sea" leads the Gotham Award nominations                Tom Ford, Marc Platt and Kenneth Lonergan to be Honored at 20th Annual Hollywood Film Awards                Tom Cruise is in his action hero comfort zone with "Jack Reacher: Never Go Back"                "Moonlight" could be A24's big Oscar horse this year                Ewan McGregor steps behind the camera with "American Pastoral"                Hollywood Contenders: A second crack at Golden Globe predictions for 2016                "The Accountant" seeks to help give Ben Affleck another blockbuster                85 countries will be competing for Best Foreign Language Feature nominations at the Oscars                Tom Hanks to receive Hollywood Actor Award for "Sully" @ Hollywood Film Awards                "Certain Women" showcases Laura Dern, Kristen Stewart, and Michelle Williams                Ben Affleck is perhaps Hollywood's biggest and most diverse superstar                "The Birth of a Nation" looks to survive controversy and contend for awards                "The Girl on the Train" hopes to transport Emily Blunt to the Oscar race        

DGA Nominates Bigelow, Cameron, Daniels, Tarantino, Reitman


Los Angeles – Directors Guild of America President Taylor Hackford today announced the five nominees for the DGA Award for Outstanding Directorial Achievement in Feature Film for 2009.

“The DGA award is especially meaningful to directors because it is decided solely by their peers – the men and women who have been in the same trenches and know exactly what goes into the crafting of a unique motion picture,” said Hackford. “The five nominees for this year have each expressed an indelible vision that transported audiences to vivid vistas of cinematic art. My heartiest congratulations to all of the nominees.”

The winner will be named at the 62nd Annual DGA Awards Dinner on Saturday, January 30, 2010, at the Hyatt Regency Century Plaza Hotel. The nominees are (in alphabetical order):

The Hurt Locker
(Summit Entertainment)

Ms. Bigelow’s Directorial Team:
· Unit Production Manager: Tony Mark
· First Assistant Director: David Ticotin
· First Assistant Director (Canadian Unit): Lee Cleary

This is Ms. Bigelow’s first DGA Feature Film Award Nomination.

cameron80x70 JAMES CAMERON
(Twentieth Century Fox)

Mr. Cameron’s Directorial Team:
· Unit Production Manager: Colin Wilson
· First Assistant Director: Josh McLaglen
· Second Assistant Director/Additional Unit First Assistant Director: Maria Battle Campbell

This is Mr. Cameron’s second DGA Feature Film Award Nomination. He previously won the Feature Film Award for Titanic in 1997.

daniels80x70LEE DANIELS
Precious: Based on the Novel ‘Push’ by Sapphire

Mr. Daniels’ Directorial Team:
· Unit Production Manager: Tony Hernandez
· First Assistant Director: Chip Signore
· Second Assistant Director: Tracey Hinds
· Second Second Assistant Director: Michael “Boogie” Pinckney
· Additional Unit Production Manager: Patrick D. Gibbons
· Additional First Assistant Director: Tom Fatone
· Additional Second Assistant Directors: Kim Thompson, Mirashyam Blakeslee
· Location Manager: Gregory Routt

This is Mr. Daniels’ first DGA Feature Film Award Nomination.

reitman80x70JASON REITMAN
Up In The Air
(Paramount Pictures)

Mr. Reitman’s Directorial Team:
· Unit Production Manager: Michael Beugg
· First Assistant Director: Jason Blumenfeld
· Second Assistant Director: Sonia Bhalla
· Assistant Unit Production Manager: Samson Mucke
· Second Second Assistant Director: Joseph Payton
· Additional Second Assistant Director: Heather L. Hogan

This is Mr. Reitman’s first DGA Feature Film Award Nomination.

Inglourious Basterds
(The Weinstein Company and Universal Pictures)

Mr. Tarantino’s Directorial Team:
· Unit Production Manager: Gregor Wilson
· Unit Production Manager (Germany): Michael Scheel
· First Assistant Director: Carlos Fidel
· Second Assistant Director: Miguel Angelo Pate
· Second Second Assistant Directors: Jill Moriarty, Tanja Däberitz

This is Mr. Tarantino’s second DGA Feature Film Award Nomination. He was previously nominated in this category for Pulp Fiction in 1994.

The DGA Award for Outstanding Directorial Achievement in Feature Film has traditionally been one of the industry’s most accurate barometers for who will win the Best Director Academy Award; only six times since the DGA Awards began in 1948 has the Feature Film winner not gone on to win the corresponding Academy Award:

1968: Anthony Harvey won the DGA Award for The Lion in Winter while Carol Reed took home the Oscar® for Oliver!

1972: Francis Ford Coppola received the DGA’s nod for The Godfather while the Academy selected Bob Fosse for Cabaret.

1985: Steven Spielberg received his first DGA Award for The Color Purple while the Oscar® went to Sydney Pollack for Out of Africa.

1995: Ron Howard was chosen by the DGA for his direction of Apollo 13 while Academy voters selected Mel Gibson for Braveheart.

2000: Ang Lee won the DGA Award for his direction of Crouching Tiger, Hidden Dragon while Steven Soderbergh won the Academy Award for Traffic.

2002: Rob Marshall won the DGA Award for Chicago while Roman Polanski received the Academy Award for The Pianist.

The winner in the Feature Film category will be announced at the 62nd Annual DGA Awards dinner and ceremony on Saturday evening, January 30, 2010, at the Hyatt Regency Century Plaza Hotel.

About HollywoodNews.com

Doing our best to bring you "The Pulse of New Hollywood®." Follow us @hollywoodnews

Follow us

Breaking Hollywood News   


2 Trackbacks

Leave a comment

You must be logged in to post a comment.