May 23, 2017

Will Ferrell, Justin Bieber lead list of Webby Award winners

By Sean O’Connell At the Webby Awards, which were held Monday night in New York City’s Hammerstein Ballroom, winners are tasked with keeping their acceptance speech to five words.

Some used that limit to get very creative.

“Tracy Morgan can suck my …,” said Dan Savage, founder of the It Gets Better Project who was reacting to the “30 Rock” star’s anti-gay slurs.

Others just ignored the rule altogether.

“Thanks for this award,” said Will Ferrell, who accepted on behalf of Funny or Die with a celebratory haiku poem. “I will put it in my house next to my instructional poetry textbooks. Thank you.”

The Webbys honor the best of the Internet. As such, host Lisa Kudrow presided over a ceremony that streamed live online. Winners who showed included Vogue editor-in-chief Anna Wintour and Groupon CEO Andrew Mason. Celebs who won but didn’t show included Justin Bieber, Jim Carrey, Conan O’Brien and the Arcade Fire.

For a complete list of video award speeches, click here.

Follow Hollywood News on Twitter for up-to-date news information.

Hollywood News, Hollywood Awards, Awards, Movies, News, Award News, Breaking News, Entertainment News, Movie News, Music News

Photo courtesy of

About Sean O'Connell

Sean O'Connell is a nationally recognized film critic. His reviews have been published in print ('The Washington Post,' 'USA Today') and online (AMC, MSN's Citysearch) since 1996. He's a weekly contributor to several national radio programs. He is a longstanding member of the Broadcast Film Critics Association (BFCA), the Online Film Critics Society (OFCS), and the Southeastern Film Critics View all articles by Sean O'Connell Association (SEFCA).

Follow us

Breaking Hollywood News   


Leave a comment

You must be logged in to post a comment.