Can we learn anything about this year's Oscar race from the Gotham nominations?                "What They Had" finds welcome humor in a tragic setting                Glenn Close, Hugh Jackman and Director Damien Chazelle to Receive Hollywood Film Awards                Ben Foster continues a hot streak with “Galveston”                Paul Dano and Zoe Kazan have captured brilliance with "Wildlife"                Amandla Stenberg, John David Washington, Yalitza Aparicio, Felix Van Groeningen & Crazy Rich Asians To Receive Hollywood Film Awards                David Gordon Green puts his stamp on "Halloween" and crafts a terrific sequel                "Can You Ever Forgive Me?" deliciously pairs Richard E. Grant with Melissa McCarthy                "22 July" sees Paul Greengrass effectively depict another tragic historical event                Timothée Chalamet and Rachel Weisz to be Honored at Hollywood Film Awards                Steve Carell and Timothée Chalamet are gunning for awards with "Beautiful Boy"                "Bad Times At The El Royale" is overstuffed yet pulpy fun from Drew Goddard                87 films will contend for Best Foreign Language Feature this year                "First Man" is another stunning achievement for Damien Chazelle and Ryan Gosling                Updated Academy Award predictions for early October        

American Society of Cinematographers Unveils Nominees in All Categories

— The American Society of Cinematographers (ASC) has announced the nominees in all categories of the 32nd Annual ASC Awards for Outstanding Achievement.

Winners will be revealed at the organization’s February 17 ceremony, which will be emceed this year by Ben Mankiewicz, a longtime host on Turner Classic Movies (TCM). The event will be held at the Ray Dolby Ballroom at Hollywood & Highland.

This year’s nominees are:

Theatrical Release
• Roger Deakins, ASC, BSC for Blade Runner 2049
• Bruno Delbonnel, ASC, AFC for Darkest Hour
• Hoyte van Hoytema, ASC, FSF, NSC for Dunkirk
• Dan Laustsen, ASC, DFF for The Shape of Water
• Rachel Morrison, ASC for Mudbound

Spotlight Award
• Máté Herbai, HSC for On Body and Soul
• Mikhail Krichman, RGC for Loveless
• Mart Taniel, ESC for November

Episode of a Series for Non-Commercial Television
• Gonzalo Amat for The Man in the High Castle (“Land O’ Smiles”) on Amazon
• Adriano Goldman, ASC, ABC for The Crown (“Smoke and Mirrors”) on Netflix
• Robert McLachlan, ASC, CSC for Game of Thrones (“The Spoils of War”) on HBO
• Gregory Middleton, ASC, CSC for Game of Thrones (“Dragonstone”) on HBO
• Alasdair Walker for Outlander (“The Battle Joined”) on Starz

Episode of a Series for Commercial Television
• Dana Gonzales, ASC for Legion (“Chapter 1”) on FX
• David Greene, ASC, CSC for 12 Monkeys (“Mother”) on Syfy
• Kurt Jones for The Originals (“Bag of Cobras”) on The CW
• Boris Mojsovski, CSC for 12 Monkeys (“Thief”) on Syfy
• Crescenzo Notarile, ASC for Gotham (“The Executioner”) on Fox

Motion Picture, Miniseries, or Pilot Made for Television
• Pepe Avila del Pino for The Deuce pilot on HBO
• Serge Desrosiers, CSC for Sometimes the Good Kill on Lifetime
• Mathias Herndl, AAC for Genius (“Chapter 1”) on National Geographic
• Shelly Johnson, ASC for Training Day pilot (“Apocalypse Now”) on CBS
• Christopher Probst, ASC for the Mindhunter pilot on Netflix

For information regarding the 32nd ASC Awards for Outstanding Achievement in Cinematography visit or call 323-969-4333.


About the ASC
The American Society of Cinematographers (ASC) is a nonprofit organization dedicated to advancing the art of filmmaking. Since its charter in 1919, the ASC has been committed to educating aspiring filmmakers and others about the art and craft of cinematography. For additional information about the ASC, visit, or join American Cinematographer on Facebook, Twitter and Instagram (@the_asc).

Media Contacts:
ignite strategic communications
Sally Christgau,
Lisa Muldowney,



Doing our best to bring you "The Pulse of New Hollywood®." Follow us @hollywoodnews

Follow us

Breaking Hollywood News   


Comments are closed.