January 17, 2017

Tag Archives: director of photography

Zach Galifianakis’ “Due Date” tops the weekend box office in the UK

HollywoodNews.com: “Due Date”, the hit comedy directed by Todd Phillips and starring Robert Downey Jr. and Zach Galifianakis has topped the weekend box office in the UK. The film which also stars Michelle Monaghan, Juliette Lewis and Academy Award(R) winner Jamie Foxx took GBP2,345,138 in its first weekend of release.
Josh Berger, President and Managing Director of Warner Bros. UK, said, “We are thrilled to be working with Robert Downey Jr, Todd Phillips and Zach Galifianakis again on Due Date. With the stellar box office of The Hangover and the Number one opening this weekend with Due Date, Todd has proved once again that he creates films that audiences love to go and see”.
“Due Date” reunites Phillips with key members of his filmmaking team from “The Hangover,” including director of photography Lawrence Sher, production designer Bill Brzeski, editor Debra Neil-Fisher, composer Christophe Beck and costume designer Louise Mingenbach.
Follow Hollywood News on Twitter for up-to-date news information.
Hollywood News, Hollywood Awards, Awards, Movies, News, Award News, Breaking News, Entertainment News, Movie News, Music News

International Cinematographers Guild announces Emerging Cinematographers Awards honorees

HollywoodNews.com: The International Cinematographers Guild has announced the honorees for its 14th annual Emerging Cinematographers Awards. The eight short subjects and two honorable mentioned films from Guild members will be shown at a special screening at the Directors Guild of America Theater in Los Angeles on September 26. A reception will follow.
ICG President Steven Poster said, “Our Emerging Cinematographers Awards are unique in the industry in that they recognize members who have not yet reached the top tier in our guild. They are all aspiring to be or are in the process of moving up to Director of Photography. These awards have always helped past honorees in their careers.
ICG judges from across the country, under the chairmanship of Jim Matlosz, selected the 10 films from some 70 that were submitted.
Honored were Tod Campbell for “The Big Bends;” Cameron Duncan, “Mr Marceau;” Stephanie Dufford honored for “The Fantastic Magnifico” Patrick Jones’ Android Love;” Rodney Lamborn, whose “Meridian,” is the shortest film in the group at two and a half minutes; Jacob Pinger for “The Cycle;” John Snedden, “Brite Eyes; and Brian Udoff, whose 26 minute “Les Mouches” is the longest film to be screened. The total running time for these films is two hours.
In addition, there are two honorable mentions–Tim Bellen, and Aaron Medick, whose films are respectively titled “State of Grace” and “Weequahic.”
Award News, Breaking News, Entertainment News, Movie News, Music News, Hollywood News

‘The Hurt Locker’s’ Mark Boal to participate in Campus MovieFest

HollywoodNews.com: “The Hurt Locker’s” Mark Boal is having a great year. Not only did his film win the Academy Award, but it’s picked up a handful of other awards as well.
Now the writer/producer will be one of many participants at the 2010 Campus MovieFest (CMF) International Grand Finale. CMF will host student filmmakers from across the globe for four days and provide them with a variety of events that include screenings, worksohps, concerts, and networking opportunities.
Co-founder of CMF stated, “Newcomers to our audience will be blown away by the level of creativity and talent on college campuses. With the energy and excitement of Wynn Las Vegas as a backdrop, we are looking forward to an amazing weekend and an incredible showcase of college films, music, and special guests.”
Below is a full list of all the participants: Michael Giacchino (Academy Award® winning composer of Up, and an Academy Visiting Artist), Patton Oswalt (Ratatouille, Big Fan), Mark Boal (Academy Award winning writer/producer, The Hurt Locker), Brett Ratner (director, X-Men: The Last Stand), Donald Petrie (director of Grumpy Old Men, Miss Congeniality), Thomas Ackerman A.S.C. (cinematographer, Anchorman: The Legend of Ron Burgundy, Beetle Juice), Marcos Siega (director of Vampire Diaries), Paul Sommers (director of photography, Vampire Diaries), Daniel Petrie, Jr. (writer of Beverly Hills Cop), Oded Fehr (The Mummy, Resident Evil), Ken Daurio and Cinco Paul (writers, Despicable Me, Horton Hears a Who!), PJ Bloom (music supervisor for Glee, Nip/Tuck), Tim Dowling (writer, Role Models), Ben Mankiewicz (TCM), John Ortiz (Fast & Furious, American Gangster), Sam Eigen (EVP, Shoreline Entertainment), Saschka Unseld (Technical Layout Director, Pixar), and more.
The festival takes place at the Wynn Las Vegas from June 10-13th.
Awards News, Breaking News, Entertainment News, Movie News, Music News, Hollywood News
Image by PR Photos.