And The Winners At Critics Movie Awards Are…

The Critics’ Choice Movie Awards Select Katherine Bigelow as Best Director for ‘The Hurt Locker,’ Making Her the First Female to Win the Award

‘Avatar’ Wins Big With Record 6 Awards, ‘Inglourious Basterds’ Takes Home 3 Awards ‘The Hurt Locker’ Takes Best Picture and Best Director Jeff Bridges Wins Best Actor for His Work in ‘Crazy Heart’, Lead Actress Award Is a Tie Between Meryl Streep for ‘Julie & Julia’ and Sandra Bullock for ‘The Blind Side’ Winners Announced at Gala Awards Ceremony Broadcast Live on VH1 Watch the Show’s Best Moments Online Now at

LOS ANGELES, Jan. 16 — The Broadcast Film Critics Association (BFCA) announced the winners of the 15th Annual Critics’ Choice Movie Awards earlier this evening. The star-studded ceremony was hosted by Kristin Chenoweth at the Hollywood Palladium and aired live on VH1. The Hurt Locker was named the year’s Best Picture and Kathryn Bigelow won Best Director honors.

Avatar was another big winner with a record six Critics’ Choice Movie Awards for Best Action Movie, Best Visual Effects, Best Sound, Best Cinematography for Mauro Fiore, Best Art Direction for Rick Carter and Robert Stromberg, and Best Editing for Stephen Rivkin, John Refoua and James Cameron. Jeff Bridges was honored with the award for Best Actor for his role in Crazy Heart, while Meryl Streep (Julie & Julia) and Sandra Bullock (The Blind Side) tied in the lead actress category.

Christoph Waltz was honored with the Best Supporting Actor award for his work in Inglourious Basterds, the film that was also honored for Best Acting Ensemble and Best Original Screenplay for Quentin Tarantino. Best Supporting Actress honors went to Mo’Nique for Precious and Best Young Actor/Actress went to Saoirse Ronan for The Lovely Bones. Up won Best Animated Feature and Best Comedy went to The Hangover.

Renowned actor and philanthropist Kevin Bacon was honored with the third annual Joel Siegel Award presented by Meryl Streep. The BFCA created this award to honor those in the film community whose actions demonstrate that the greatest value of celebrity is the ability to do good work for others. This special award pays homage to beloved “Good Morning America” film critic and BFCA member Joel Siegel, who passed away in 2007.

The 15th Annual Critics’ Choice Movie Awards also included a special tribute to American film director and producer John Hughes, who passed away in August, 2009. In honor of Hughes’ life and cinematic achievements, John Krasinski and Amy Poehler presented a poignant tribute followed by a musical performance from Death Cab For Cutie who played “Don’t You (Forget About Me)” from “The Breakfast Club” soundtrack.

Nominees in attendance included: Kathryn Bigelow, Ryan Bingham, Neill Blomkamp, Emily Blunt, Jeff Bridges, T-Bone Burnette, Sandra Bullock, James Cameron, Bradley Cooper, Marion Cotillard, Matt Damon, Lee Daniels, Peter Doctor, Vera Farmiga, Tom Ford, Morgan Freeman, Heather Graham, Woody Harrelson, Jae Head, Ed Helms, Nick Hornby, Anna Kendrick, Diane Kruger, Bailey Madison, Paul McCartney, Christian McKay, Kodi Smit-McPhee, Mo’Nique, Julianne Moore, Carey Mulligan, Kenny Ortega, Jason Reitman, Jeremy Renner, Saoirse Ronan, Eli Roth, Gabourey Sidibe, Meryl Streep, Quentin Tarantino, Stanley Tucci, and Christoph Waltz.
Presenters at the gala included: Will Arnett, Jason Bateman, Kristen Bell, Emily Blunt, Cedric the Entertainer, Bradley Cooper, Rob Corddry, Abbie Cornish, Claire Danes, Josh Duhamel, Zac Efron, Vera Farmiga, Heather Graham, Ed Helms, Samuel L. Jackson, Ken Jeong, Adam Lambert, Joseph Gordon Levitt, Tobey Maguire, Tracy Morgan, Amy Poehler, Craig Robinson, Zoe Saldana, Susan Sarandon, Sarah Silverman, and Meryl Streep.

The show featured Nick Jonas & The Administration as this year’s house band.
The 240 members of the Broadcast Film Critics Association, the largest film critics’ organization in the United States and Canada, representing television, radio and online critics, selected nominees in each of 25 categories. The awards are bestowed annually to honor the finest in cinematic achievement. Eligible films were released in 2009. The accounting firm of Gregory A. Mogab tallied the written ballots. Historically, the Critics’ Choice Movie Awards are the most accurate predictor of the Academy Award nominations.

To watch the best moments, acceptance speeches, red carpet interviews and a complete list of winners visit


Doing our best to bring you "The Pulse of New Hollywood®." Follow us @hollywoodnews

Follow us

Breaking Hollywood News   


5 Trackbacks

Leave a comment

You must be logged in to post a comment.