First Listen: Crystal Castles – “Doe Deer”

While the band has become famous for their hits “Vanished” and “Crimewave,” they follow up their reputation with an amazing live performance that leaves a lasting impression. Band members Ethan Kath and Alice Glass return with a new album that was recorded in various places including a church in Iceland, a self built cabin in Ontario and a garage behind an abandoned store in Detroit.

Electronic Toronto duo Crystal Castles announced the track list for their 2nd self-titled album, that’s right…2nd self-titled album earlier this week and now we’re getting a first look at track number 3. The clip of the song surfaces on a 12″ vinyl released for Record Store Day and has a weird scratchy feeling to it.

What do you think of the new song?


Below is the full track list:

01 “Fainting Spells”
02 “Celestica”
03 “Doe Deer”
04 “Baptism”
05 “Year of Silence”
06 “Empathy”
07 “Suffocation”
08 “Violent Dreams”
09 “Vietnam”
10 “Birds”
11 “Pap Smear”
12 “Not in Love”
13 “Intimate”
14 “I Am Made of Chalk”


Doing our best to bring you "The Pulse of New Hollywood®." Follow us @hollywoodnews

Follow us

Breaking Hollywood News   



  • April 15, 2010 | Permalink |

    I just saw them live at the echoplex this week, they were amazing live, alice is awesome on stage, she always crowd surfs

  • April 15, 2010 | Permalink |

    this clip sounds really weird, i don’t even know if it’s a song, but it’s crystal castles so what do you expect

  • Dan
    April 15, 2010 | Permalink |

    I think this is a great track. I love her singing and screaming over the intense beats. I was a little worried the second album would be softer, but that’s clearly not the case.

  • April 15, 2010 | Permalink |

    Pretty good. Feels like it’s setting the stage for a for spacious and epic track.

Leave a comment

You must be logged in to post a comment.