National Film Registry continues to spurn Oscars’ top winners

By Paul Sheehan

Every year since 1989, the National Film Registry — a branch of the Library of Congress — selects 25 motion pictures to preserve for posterity. This year, as usual, most of its choices aren’t the ones deemed the best of their day by Hollywood — that is, they’re not past Oscars contenders.

Indeed, as with last year, 19 of this year’s entries were eligible for Oscars but again there are only nine nominated films among those named to the registry. And just four of these won Academy Awards: “All the President’s Men” (1995); “The Empire Strikes Back” (1980) ; “The Exorcist” (1973); and “A Tree Grows in Brooklyn” (1945).

None of these new entries took home the academy’s top honor. Even with 550 films dating up to 1996 now on the registry, 26 of the first 70 Best Picture champs remain missing: “Broadway Melody” (1929), “Cimarron” (1930), “Cavalcade” (1933), “Mutiny on the Bounty” (1935),…

To read more go to

Follow Hollywood News on Twitter for up-to-date news information.

Hollywood News, Hollywood Awards, Awards, Movies, News, Award News, Breaking News, Entertainment News, Movie News, Music News


Doing our best to bring you "The Pulse of New Hollywood®." Follow us @hollywoodnews

Follow us

Breaking Hollywood News   


Leave a comment

You must be logged in to post a comment.