“Harry Potter” Franchise to Receive Honors at BAFTAs

HollywoodNews.com: The Harry Potter franchise was honored at today’s BAFTAs awards, with Harry Potter author J.K. Rowling and film producer David Heyman in attendance to receive the award.

The franchise began in 2001 with the theatrical release of Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone, the first book in a seven-part series that has topped both book sales and box office charts consistently since 1997. The final book in the series, Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows, was released in 2007; the final half of the movie adaptation will be released in theaters this July.

David Heyman, the producer of all the Harry Potter movies and the man responsible for getting the story to the big screen,
said of the honor: “On behalf of the over 2000 people who worked in front of and behind the camera on each of the Harry Potter films I would like to say how honoured we all are to receive this Award. And thank you to Jo Rowling for entrusting us to bring her magnificent books to the screen.”

The full press release of the awards can be found on the BAFTA website.

The BAFTA Awards will be televised here in the States tonight at 8pm EST on BBC America; check your local listings for information.

Follow Hollywood News on Twitter for up-to-date news information.

Award News, Breaking News, Entertainment News, Movie News, Music News, Hollywood News

About HollywoodNews.com

Doing our best to bring you "The Pulse of New Hollywood®." Follow us @hollywoodnews

Follow us

Breaking Hollywood News   


Leave a comment

You must be logged in to post a comment.