First annual Comedy Awards air on Comedy Central

By Kim Palacios The first annual Comedy Awards aired tonight on Comedy Central, some two weeks after its March 26th taping at the Hammerstein Ballroom in New York. Few knew what to expect for the show’s maiden voyage, but it seemed to go off well, drawing a star-studded cast of presenters and an audience of comedic veterans.

The big winners of the night on the television side were “Modern Family”, which won for Comedy Series and Comedy Directing; “30 Rock” also walked away with Best Comedy Actor (Alec Baldwin) and Comedy Writing. “Saturday Night Live” saw only one award won: Best Comedy Actress went to a very deserving Kristen Wiig. On the film side, Best Comedy went to “The Other Guys”, Best Comedy Actor to Zach Galifianakis for “Dinner for Schmucks”, and Best Comedy Actress to Tina Fey for “Date Night”.

Some nine other awards were issued, in groupings that included far narrower classifications such as stand-up, late night, animated, alternative, and screenplay. Other highlights: Eddie Murphy received the Icon Award and David Letterman received the Johnny Carson Award for Comedic Excellence; the latter was presented by Bill Murray, who was given a standing ovation.

Follow Hollywood News on Twitter for up-to-date news information.

Hollywood News, Hollywood Awards, Awards, Movies, News, Award News, Breaking News, Entertainment News, Movie News, Music News


Doing our best to bring you "The Pulse of New Hollywood®." Follow us @hollywoodnews

Follow us

Breaking Hollywood News   


Leave a comment

You must be logged in to post a comment.