“Hunger Games” trilogy now going to be four films

By Sean O’Connell
Hollywoodnews.com: Since when did one book need two movie adaptations?

Did the trend start with “The Deathly Hallows” being divided into two parts? Then there’s Peter Jackson’s “The Hobbit,” for example. J.R.R. Tolkien wrote several novels, but only one “Hobbit.” Yet because studios know fans are willing to pay for two movie tickets to see two separate “Hobbit” films, they break the book in half and charge you twice to see a “Hobbit” adaptation.

Lionsgate must be listening, because the studio has revealed that its planned adaptation of Suzanne Collins’ “The Hunger Games” trilogy will now stretch over four films.

Funny. The word “trilogy” implies “three” everywhere but Hollywood.

The “Hunger Games” shoot is underway in North Carolina, with Jennifer Lawrence in the lead role of Katniss, a hard-edged teenager competing in a survival competition. She’ll be joined by Liam Hemsworth, Josh Hutcherson, Elizabeth Banks, Donald Sutherland and Woody Harrelson.

“The property is generating tremendous buzz and excitement, and it all points to a major Lionsgate franchise in the making,” CEO Jon Feltheimer said.

The first installment of “The Hunger Games” reaches theaters on March 23, 2012.

Follow Hollywood News on Twitter for up-to-date news information.

Hollywood News, Hollywood Awards, Awards, Movies, News, Award News, Breaking News, Entertainment News, Movie News, Music News

About HollywoodNews.com

Doing our best to bring you "The Pulse of New Hollywood®." Follow us @hollywoodnews

Follow us

Breaking Hollywood News   


Leave a comment

You must be logged in to post a comment.