Directors Guild of America Announced Documentary Nominees Directors Guild of America President Taylor Hackford today announced the DGA’s nominees for Outstanding Directorial Achievement in Documentaries for the year 2011.

“The remarkable documentaries made by this year?s nominees take audiences on a journey, whether casting light on injustice or exploring the human condition in all of its nuance, cruelty, creativity and triumph,” said Hackford. ?Our nominees represent the best in documentary filmmaking and I congratulate each of them on a job well done.

The winners will be announced at the 64th Annual DGA Awards Dinner on Saturday, January 28, 2012 in the Grand Ballroom at Hollywood & Highland in Los Angeles. The DGA Awards will be hosted by director/actor/producer Kelsey Grammer.



The nominees for the Directors Guild of America Award for Outstanding Directorial Achievement in Documentary for 2011 are (in alphabetical order):

Paradise Lost 3: Purgatory
Radical Media

HBO Documentary Films

This is the third DGA Award nomination for Mr. Berlinger and Mr. Sinofsky, all in this category. They won the DGA Award for Outstanding Directorial Achievement in Documentary for Brother’s Keeper in 1992. They were also nominated for Paradise Lost in 1996.


The Interrupters
Kartemquin Films


The Independent Television Services

BBC Storyville

Rise Films

This is Mr. James’ third DGA Award nomination in this category. He won the DGA Award for Outstanding Achievement in Documentary for Hoop Dreams in 1994. He was also nominated (along with Peter Gilbert) for At the Death House Door in 2008.


Project Nim
Red Box Films

Passion Pictures

HBO Documentary Films
BBC Films

UK Film Council

This is Mr. Marsh?s second DGA Award nomination. He was previously nominated in this category for Man on Wire in 2008.


Bill Cunningham New York
First Thought Films

Zeitgeist Films

This is Mr. Press? first DGA Award nomination.


George Harrison: Living in the Material World

Sikelia Productions

Spitfire Pictures

Grove Street Pictures

This is Mr. Scorsese?s tenth DGA Award nomination. He is also nominated this year in the Outstanding Directorial Achievement in Feature Film category for Hugo. He won the DGA Award for Outstanding Directorial Achievement in Feature Film in 2006 for The Departed, and was previously nominated in that category for Taxi Driver (1976), Raging Bull (1980), Goodfellas (1990), The Age of Innocence (1993), Gangs of New York (2002), and The Aviator (2004). Mr. Scorsese won the DGA Award last year for Outstanding Directorial Achievement in Dramatic Television for Boardwalk Empire. In 1999, Mr. Scorsese was presented with the Filmmaker Award at the inaugural DGA Honors Gala, and he was honored with the DGA Lifetime Achievement Award in 2003.


For a complete list of nominations in other categories or to download a press credential application, please visit the Awards section of the DGA website at

– # # # –

About the DGA:

In the 76 years since its founding in 1936, the DGA has fought for the economic and creative rights of its members; protected their ability to financially benefit from the reuse of their work; established strong pension and health plans; and established jurisdiction in new technologies and distribution platforms. Today we represent 14,500 directors and members of the directorial team working in film, television, commercials, new media and other audiovisual media.


Doing our best to bring you "The Pulse of New Hollywood®." Follow us @hollywoodnews

Follow us

Breaking Hollywood News   


Leave a comment

You must be logged in to post a comment.