Top line-up of Hollywood talent set to present honors at the 2012 Writers Guild Awards Executive Producer Spike Jones, Jr. and Talent Producer Carole Propp have confirmed a top line-up of Hollywood talent set to present honors at the 2012 Writers Guild Awards L.A. ceremony coming up on Sunday, February 19, at the Hollywood Palladium. This year’s West Coast show will feature writers, actors, and directors who’ve collaborated to create memorable films, television series, videogames, new media, and other written programs.

In addition to previously announced 2012 WGA Hollywood show co-hosts Zooey Deschanel (New Girl) and Joel McHale (Community, The Soup), this year’s Writers Guild Awards presenters will include: Parks & Recreation star Amy Poehler with Parks & Recreation co-creator Michael Schur, Breaking Bad star Bryan Cranston with Breaking Bad creator Vince Gilligan, 2 Broke Girls star Kat Denning with 2 Broke Girls co-creator Michael Patrick King, Web Therapy star/co-creator Lisa Kudrow with Web Therapy co-creator Don Roos, actor-comic Patton Oswalt (Young Adult) with director-screenwriter Brad Bird (MI4: Ghost Protocol, Ratatouille), Mad Men creator Matthew Weiner with Mad Men co-star Kiernan Shipka, who portrays daughter Sally Draper on the AMC series, Desperate Housewives creator Marc Cherry, and the three-generation comic writing dynasty of Academy Awards telecasts writer Buz Kohan, $#**! My Dad Says co-creator David Kohan, and Weeds creator Jenji Kohan.

Academy Award-nominated actresses Viola Davis and Octavia Spencer (The Help) will present the Guild’s Paul Selvin Award, given to a writer whose script embodies constitutional rights and civil liberties, to The Help screenwriter-director Tate Taylor.

Deadwood and Luck creator David Milch will present the WGAW’s Laurel Award for Screen to Academy and Writers Guild Award-winning screenwriter Eric Roth (Forrest Gump), plus a special taped message from director David Fincher (The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo). Via a special taped message, Academy and Writers Guild Award-winning screenwriter Paul Haggis (Crash) and Emmy and Writers Guild Award-nominated writer Winnie Holzman (My So-Called Life) will help present the WGAW’s Paddy Chayefsky Laurel Award for Television to Emmy and Writers Guild Award-winning writers Marshall Herskovitz & Edward Zwick (thirtysomething).

Emmy-winning animation writer Mike Reiss (The Simpsons) will also present the WGAW’s Morgan Cox Award to Emmy and Writers Guild Award-winning writer and former WGAW President Patric M. Verrone (Futurama) for his service to the Guild.

More updates to talent line-up to be announced closer to show date.

In addition to Jones, Jr. (Primetime Creative Arts Emmy Awards) and Propp (Primetime Emmy Awards, Tony Awards), the 2012 Writers Guild Awards’ West Coast ceremony will be directed by Chris Donovan (Golden Globe Awards), with Emmy and Writers Guild Award-winning writer Guy Nicolucci (Late Night with Conan O’Brien) serving as producer and head writer.

The WGAW Awards Committee includes Guild members: Karen Harris (chair), Mark Alton Brown, Steve Chivers, Patrick Doody, Shelly Goldstein, Laurie Parres, and Scott Saltzburg.

The 2012 Writers Guild Awards will be held on Sunday, February 19, 2012, simultaneously at the Hollywood Palladium in Los Angeles and at the B.B. King Blues Club in New York City. For more information about the 2012 Writers Guild Awards, please visit or

The Writers Guild of America, West (WGAW) is a labor union representing writers of motion pictures, television, radio and Internet programming, including news and documentaries. Founded in 1933, the Guild negotiates and administers contracts that protect the creative and economic rights of its members. It is involved in a wide range of programs that advance the interests of writers, and is active in public policy and legislative matters on the local, national and international levels. For more information on the WGAW, please visit:

Follow Hollywood News on Twitter for up-to-date news information.

Hollywood News, Hollywood Awards, Awards, Movies, News, Award News, Breaking News, Entertainment News, Movie News, Music News


Doing our best to bring you "The Pulse of New Hollywood®." Follow us @hollywoodnews

Follow us

Breaking Hollywood News   


Leave a comment

You must be logged in to post a comment.