Michael B. Jordan, Sophie Nelisse, and David Oyelowo to be honored with “The Hollywood Spotlight Awards”


Carlos de Abreu, founder and executive producer of the 17th Annual Hollywood Film Awards, announced today that the recipients of this year’s “Hollywood Spotlight Awards” are Michael B. Jordan (“Fruitvale Station”), Sophie Nelisse (“The Book Thief”), and David Oyelowo (“Lee Daniel’s The Butler’). The honor will be bestowed at the Hollywood Film Awards Gala Ceremony on Monday evening, October 21st, 2013 at the Beverly Hilton Hotel in Beverly Hills.

“We are very excited that we will be able to recognize acting talents that are on their road to discovery and stardom,” said Carlos de Abreu.

The Hollywood Film Awards has also announced that it will be honoring the prolific and legendary producer Jerry Weintraub with the “Hollywood Legend Award,” Academy award-nominated actor Harrison Ford with this year’s “Hollywood Career Achievement Award,” actor Matthew McConaughey with the “Hollywood Actor Award,” Academy Award-winning actress Sandra Bullock with the “Hollywood Actress Award,” Oscar-nominated actor Jake Gyllenhaal with the “Hollywood Supporting Actor Award,” Academy Award-winning actress Julia Roberts with the “Hollywood Supporting Actress Award,” the cast of “August: Osage County,” Meryl Streep, Julia Roberts, Ewan McGregor, Abigail Breslin, Chris Cooper, Benedict Cumberbatch, Juliette Lewis, Margo Martindale, Dermot Mulroney, Julianne Nicholson, Sam Shepard, and Misty Upham with the “Hollywood Ensemble Award,” actor Jared Leto with the “Hollywood Breakout Performance Award” for “Dallas Buyers Club,” actress Lupita Nyong’o with the “New Hollywood Award” for “12 Year A Slave,” director Lee Daniels with the “Hollywood Director Award,” director Steve McQueen with the “Hollywood Breakout Director Award,” producer Michael De Luca with the “Hollywood Producer Award,” and screenwriters Julie Delpy, Ethan Hawke and Richard Linklater with the “Hollywood Screenwriter Award.” Other honorees include director Dan Scalon for “Monsters University” with the “Hollywood Animation Award,” and the movie “Pacific Rim” for visual effects.

Michael B. Jordan portrays ‘Oscar Grant’ in his latest film, FRUITVALE STATION (dir. Ryan Coogler). which premiered at the Sundance Film Festival to raving reviews winning the “Grand Jury Prize” and “Audience Award.” The film also premiered at the Cannes Film Festival, where it won the award for “Best First Film”.

Next, Michael can be seen in Tom Gormican’s THAT AWKWARD MOMENT starring opposite Zac Efron, Imogen Poots and Miles Teller which is being released January 31, 2014. In 2012 alone, he starred in 20th Century Fox’s box office hit CHRONICLE (dir. Josh Trank).

SOPHIE NÉLISSE (Liesel) is best known for her Genie Award-winning performance inMonsieur Lazhar. The film was nominated for the Academy Award for Best Foreign Language Film of the Year in 2012, and Sophie won the Canadian Jutra Award for Best Supporting Actress for her performance. Sophie also appeared in the film Ésimésac,and in the Quebec television comedy Les Parents.

DAVID OYELOWO is a classically trained stage actor who graduated from the London Academy of Music and Dramatic Art (LAMDA), and received the “Scholarship for Excellence” from Nicholas Hytner. He played the title role of HENRY VI, becoming the first black actor to play an English king for the RSC (Royal Shakespeare Company). Oyelowo can currently be seen in “Lee Daniels’ The Butler.” Just some of his recent films include “Lincoln,” “Jack Reacher,” “The Middle of Nowhere” (Independent Spirit Award Nomination), “Red Tails,” “The Paperboy,” and “The Help.” Oyelowo will next be seen on the big screen in the Nina Simon biopic “Nina” alongside Zoe Saldana, “Interstellar,” “Nightingale,” he’ll portray Sugar Ray Robinson in “Sweet Thunder,” and he’ll play Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. in Ava DuVernay’s “Selma.”

The Hollywood Film Awards honors cherished stars, filmmakers, and up-and-coming talent, and traditionally kicks off the film awards season with the biggest stars and top industry executives in attendance. Past “Hollywood Spotlight Awards” honorees included Samantha Barks, Berenice Bejo, Jean Dujardin, Elle Fanning, Bella Heathcote, Amber Heard, Tom Holland, Mila Kunis, Milla Jovovich, John Magaro, Leighton Meester, Ezra Miller, Barry Pepper, Noomi Rapace, Kelly Reilly, Andrea Riseborough, Shailene Woodley and Anton Yelchin among others.

Last year’s awards show received more than 41 million media impressions, in addition to more than 300 million online and print readers’ impressions.

dick clark productions is the world’s largest producer and proprietor of televised events. dcp produces perennial hits such as the “American Music Awards,” “Golden Globe Awards,” “Academy of Country Music Awards,” “Hollywood Film Awards,” “Billboard Music Awards,” and “Dick Clark’s New Year’s Rockin’ Eve with Ryan Seacrest.” dcp also produces popular weekly television programming, including “So You Think You Can Dance,” and owns one of the world’s most unique and extensive entertainment archive libraries with more than 55 years of dcp’s award-winning shows, historic programs, specials, performances and legendary programming. For additional information, visit www.dickclark.com.

The Hollywood Film Awards®, founded in 1997, were created to celebrate Hollywood and launch the awards season. The recipients of the awards are selected by an Advisory Team for their body of work and/or a film(s) that is to be released during the calendar year. In the last 10 years, a total of 96 Oscar® nominations and 34 Oscars® were given to the honorees of the Hollywood Film Awards. For additional information, visit www.hollywoodawards.com.

PR Contacts:

Slate PR
Andy Gelb
(310) 461-0111
Rachael Trager

dick clark productions
Liz Morentin

About HollywoodNews.com

Doing our best to bring you "The Pulse of New Hollywood®." Follow us @hollywoodnews

Follow us

Breaking Hollywood News   


Comments are closed.