12 Years a Slave wins three London Critics Circle Film Awards

12 years a slave  Chiwetel Ejiofor Lupita Nyong'o MIchael Fassbender

Across the pond another in the sometimes seemingly endless stream of precursor awards was given out, and this one was the London Critics Circle Film Awards. Last night, 12 Years a Slave took home three big prizes, including the Film of the Year award. The other wins were for Chiwetel Ejiofor and Lupita Nyong’o in their respective acting categories (Best Actor and Supporting Actress). The movie was also nominated for Best Director (Steve McQueen), Screenwriter (John Ridley), Supporting Actor (Michael Fassbender), and Technical Achievement.

While McQueen lost to Alfonso Cuaron (for Gravity), Ridley lost to the Coen Brothers (for Inside Llewyn Davis), Fassbender lost to Barkhad Abdi (for Captain Phillips), and Bobbit’s cinematography lost to the special effects of Gravity, it was still a big night for 12 Years a Slave, as it took home more awards than any other film. Especially with the upcoming BAFTA awards the final prize before the Oscars, seeing that the British critics supported this film over Gravity definitely says something.

As for the Academy Awards, it’s still a three way race in Best Picture between 12 Years a Slave, American Hustle, and Gravity, with those same three fighting it out for Director as well. The tide was previously thought to have turned in Gravity’s favor, but this could be a sign of 12 Years a Slave making a late push before the Oscar ceremony in March. Time will tell, but it’s an incredibly close and exciting race, that’s for sure!

Here are all of the winners from the London Critics Circle Film Awards:

Film of the Year
12 Years a Slave – Winner
Blue Is The Warmest Color
Blue Jasmine
Frances Ha
The Great Beauty
Inside Llewyn Davis
The Wolf Of Wall Street

Foreign-Language Film of the Year
Blue Is the Warmest Color – Winner
Caesar Must Die
The Great Beauty
A Hijacking

British Film of the Year
A Field In England
The Selfish Giant – Winner

Documentary of the Year
The Act of Killing – Winner
Beware Of Mr Baker
Stories We Tell
We Steal Secrets: The Story Of WikiLeaks

Alfonso Cuarón, Gravity – Winner
Paul Greengrass, Captain Phillips
Steve McQueen, 12 Years A Slave
Martin Scorsese, The Wolf Of Wall Street
Paolo Sorrentino, The Great Beauty

Ethan Coen & Joel Coen, Inside Llewyn Davis – Winner
Steve Coogan & Jeff Pope, Philomena
Spike Jonze, Her
John Ridley, 12 Years A Slave
Terence Winter, The Wolf Of Wall Street

Bruce Dern, Nebraska
Leonardo DiCaprio, The Wolf Of Wall Street
Michael Douglas, Behind The Candelabra
Chiwetel Ejiofor, 12 Years a Slave – Winner
Tom Hanks, Captain Phillips

Cate Blanchett, Blue Jasmine – Winner
Sandra Bullock, Gravity
Judi Dench, Philomena
Adèle Exarchopoulos, Blue Is The Warmest Color
Greta Gerwig, Frances Ha

Supporting Actor
Barkhad Abdi, Captain Phillips – Winner
Michael Fassbender, 12 Years A Slave
James Gandolfini, Enough Said
Tom Hanks, Saving Mr Banks
Jared Leto, Dallas Buyers Club

Supporting Actress
Naomie Harris, Mandela: Long Walk To Freedom
Sally Hawkins, Blue Jasmine
Jennifer Lawrence, American Hustle
Lupita Nyong’o, 12 Years a Slave – Winner
June Squibb, Nebraska

British Actor
Christian Bale, American Hustle / Out Of the Furnace
Steve Coogan, Alan Partridge: Alpha Papa / The Look of Love / Philomena / What Maisie Knew
Chiwetel Ejiofor, 12 Years A Slave
Michael Fassbender, The Counselor / 12 Years A Slave
James McAvoy, Filth/Trance/Welcome to the Punch – Winner

British Actress
Judi Dench, Philomena – Winner
Lindsay Duncan, About Time / Last Passenger / Le Week-End
Naomie Harris, Mandela: Long Walk To Freedom
Sally Hawkins, Blue Jasmine
Emma Thompson, Beautiful Creatures / Saving Mr Banks

Young British Performer
Conner Chapman, The Selfish Giant – Winner
Eloise Laurence, Broken
George MacKay, Breakfast With Jonny Wilkinson / For Those In Peril / How I Live Now / Sunshine On Leith
Saoirse Ronan, Byzantium / The Host / How I Live Now
Shaun Thomas, The Selfish Giant

Breakthrough British Filmmaker
Jon S Baird, Filth – Winner
Scott Graham, Shell
Marcus Markou, Papadopoulos & Sons
Rufus Norris, Broken
Paul Wright, For Those In Peril

Technical Achievement Award
12 Years A Slave, Sean Bobbitt, cinematography
American Hustle, Judy Becker, production design
Behind The Candelabra, Howard Cummings, production design
Filth, Mark Eckersley, editing
Frances Ha, Sam Levy, cinematography
Gravity, Tim Webber, special effects – Winner
The Hunger Games: Catching Fire, Trish Summerville, costumes
Inside Llewyn Davis, T Bone Burnett, music
Stoker, Kurt Swanson & Bart Mueller, costumes
Upstream Color, Johnny Marshall, sound design

Dilys Powell Award for Excellence in Film: Gary Oldman

About Joey Magidson

A graduate of Stony Brook University (where he studied Cinema and Cultural Studies), resides in Brooklyn, New York. He contributes to several other film-related websites and is a member of the Broadcast Film Critics Association.

Follow us

Breaking Hollywood News   


Comments are closed.