Johnny Depp Congratulations!                Ray Liotta: Rest in Peace good friend.                Peace and Love!                The 2022 Oscar Winners and Nominees                2022 Screen Actors Guild Awards: And the Winners are...                2022 Annual Oscar Nominees                Sidney Poitier: “One of Hollywood’s Greatest Legends.”                The Power of HOPE: One person can change the world by giving people HOPE! Washington, Lincoln, Martin Luther King Jr. , Mandela, Mother Teresa, Malala                2021 CRITICS CHOICE AWARDS                78th Venice International Film Festival                "Parallel Mothers" by Pedro Almodóvar. Starring Penelope Cruz                Cannes: 2021 Film Winners                "PIG" Starring Nicolas Cage                Casanova, Last Love                Paper Birds Starring Edward Norton        

Hollywood Film Awards: Amy Schumer to receive the Hollywood Comedy Award for “Trainwreck”

Comedy Central Roast of Donald Trump - Arrivals
Up and down the line, the 19th annual Hollywood Film Awards have made tremendous selections this year, but I’m not sure any are as pleasing to me as Amy Schumer receiving the Hollywood Comedy Award. Her film Trainwreck is not just the funniest of 2015 so far, it’s among the best movies of the year in general. This is a great way to honor her, considering she delivers not only a terrific comedic performance, she also penned the hilarious screenplay. Schumer is going to win plenty of awards over the course of her career, but this certainly doesn’t hurt the Trainwreck campaign for Oscar attention. We’ll see if the Academy notices her, but I’m thrilled that the Hollywood Film Awards have seen fit to do so here…

Here’s part of the press release once again announcing this honor:

Amy Schumer Set to Receive “Hollywood Comedy Award” for Trainwreck at the “19th Annual Hollywood Film Awards®”

Emmy Award-winning writer, producer, comedian and actress Amy Schumer will be honored with the “Hollywood Comedy Award” at the “19th Annual Hollywood Film Awards.” The ceremony will take place at the Beverly Hilton Hotel in Beverly Hills, on November 1, 2015.

The Hollywood Film Awards, the official launch of the awards season®, has recognized excellence in the art of cinema and filmmaking for 18 years, honoring some of the world’s biggest stars. Honorees have gone on to garner many Oscar nominations and wins.

Schumer wrote and starred in her first feature film, Trainwreck, which garnered excelled critical acclaim and box office success. Schumer is also in her 4th season of Comedy Central’s Inside Amy Schumer, of which she won this year’s Emmy for Outstanding Variety and Sketch Series.

It was previously announced that Robert De Niro will receive this year’s “Hollywood Career Achievement Award,” Furious 7 will receive the “Hollywood Blockbuster Award,” Wiz Khalifa and Charlie Puth will receive “Hollywood Song Award” for their hit “See You Again” off the Furious 7 soundtrack, Asif Kapadia will receive the “Hollywood Documentary Award” for Amy, Tom Hooper will receive the “Hollywood Directing Award” for The Danish Girl, Benicio Del Toro will receive the “Hollywood Supporting Actor Award” for Sicario, Saoirse Ronan will receive the “New Hollywood Award” for her performance in Brooklyn, Alicia Vikander will receive the “Hollywood Breakout Actress Award,” for The Danish Girl and the cast of “Straight Outta Compton,” Corey Hawkins, O’Shea Jackson Jr. and Jason Mitchell will be honored with the “Hollywood Breakout Ensemble Award.”

Other honorees include Janusz Kaminski (Bridge of Spies) for “Hollywood Cinematography Award”; Alexandre Desplat (The Danish Girl, Suffragette) for “Hollywood Film Composer Award”; David Rosenbloom (Black Mass) for “Hollywood Editing Award”; Tim Alexander (Jurassic World) for “Hollywood Visual Effects Award”; Gary Rydstrom (Bridge of Spies) for “Hollywood Sound Award”; Sandy Powell (Cinderella) for “Hollywood Costume Designer Award”; Lesley Vanderwalt (Mad Max: Fury Road) for “Hollywood Make Up & Hair Styling Award”; and Colin Gobson (Mad Max: Fury Road) for “Hollywood Production Design Award.” More honorees are set to be announced at a later date.

Amy Schumer is the creator, star, writer and executive producer of the Emmy and Peabody Award winning Inside Amy Schumer, the popular Comedy Central television series which premiered in April 2013 to the network’s highest season premiere ratings of the year. Schumer’s provocative and hilariously wicked mind is on full display as she explores topics revolving around sex, relationships, and the general clusterf*ck that is life through a series of scripted vignettes, stand-up comedy, and man-on-the-street interviews. Schumer can next be seen in her one-hour HBO comedy special, Amy Schumer: Live at the Apollo, directed by Chris Rock premiering on October 17th. Schumer’s first book was recently purchased by the Simon & Schuster imprint Gallery Books and is set to be released in late 2016. It was the highest advance that the publishing house has given to a female author. Schumer recently wrote and starred in Trainwreck which premiered this summer. Additional film credits include Seeking a Friend for the End of the World starring Steve Carrell and Kiera Knightley, as well as Price Check, an independent feature opposite Parker Posey which premiered at the 2012 Sundance Film Festival. Schumer is a founding member of The Collective, a New York based Theatre Company, and a graduate of The William Esper studio where she studied for 3 years.

CHEAT TWEET: .@amyschumer is set to receive the “Hollywood Comedy Award” at the 19th Annual #HollywoodAwards.

Congrats again to Ms. Schumer!

About Joey Magidson

A graduate of Stony Brook University (where he studied Cinema and Cultural Studies), resides in Brooklyn, New York. He contributes to several other film-related websites and is a member of the Broadcast Film Critics Association.

Follow us

Breaking Hollywood News   


Comments are closed.