Mel Gibson to be Honored with the Hollywood Director Award at the 20th Annual Hollywood Film Awards



dick clark productions announced today that Academy Award-winning actor, writer and director Mel Gibson will be honored with the “Hollywood Director Award” at the 20th Annual “Hollywood Film Awards® Presented by Virginia Black.” The prolific multi-talented artist directs Lionsgate’s “Hacksaw Ridge,” starring Andrew Garfield, Vince Vaughn and Teresa Palmer, which is set to hit theaters November 4th, 2016.

The awards ceremony, celebrating its 20th anniversary as the official launch of the awards season®, will be hosted by actor and comedian James Corden, and will take place at the Beverly Hilton Hotel in Beverly Hills, on November 6, 2016. The Hollywood Film Awards honors some of the most acclaimed films and actors, as well as artists in Cinematography, Visual Effects, Film Composing, Costume Design, Editing, Production Design, Sound and Makeup & Hairstyling. Its recipients over the past 20 years have included the world’s biggest stars and more than 110 have gone on to garner Oscar nominations and/or wins.

Past honorees of the “Hollywood Director Award” include Tom Hooper, David O. Russell, Oliver Stone, Ron Howard, Martin Scorsese and John Schlesinger among others.

hacksaw ridge

Mel Gibson has received numerous awards, recognition and acclaim for his decades of work both in front of and behind the camera. After attending the Australian National Institute of Dramatic Arts, it didn’t take Gibson long to catch the eye of director George Miller and receive worldwide recognition for the 1979 film “Mad Max,” for which he received an Australian Film Institute Best Actor Award.

In 1984, Gibson made his American film debut in “The River,” opposite Sissy Spacek. He went on to star in other well-known films including “Gallipoli,” “The Bounty,” Tequila Sunrise,” and the “Lethal Weapon” series, which would cement his status in Hollywood. In 1989 Gibson founded Icon Productions, whose first film was “Hamlet” and won Gibson the William Shakespeare Award from the Folger Theater in Washington, DC. Gibson made his directorial debut in 1993 in “The Man Without A Face” in which he also starred.

In 1995 Gibson produced, directed and starred in the critical and box office success “Braveheart,” which went on to receive five Academy Awards including Best Picture and Best Director. In 2000, Gibson became the first actor in history to star in three $100 million films (domestic gross) during the same year; “The Patriot,” “Chicken Run,” and “What Women Want”.

In 2004, Gibson produced, co-wrote and directed The Passion of The Christ starring Jim Caviezel, Maia Morgenstern and Monica Bellucci. The Ash Wednesday release on February 25 had the best five-day opening ever, at that time, for a film with a Wednesday opening. The Passion of The Christ had a worldwide box-office gross of $610 million, making it the highest-grossing R-rated film and highest grossing independent film in film history. The film was nominated for three Academy Awards®.

Hacksaw Ridge tells the extraordinary true story of American Army medic, Desmond T. Doss. During the Second World War, Doss became widely known for his unfaltering ideals, refusing to kill or carry a gun in battle, despite his harrowing bravery during the Battle of Okinawa, saving soldiers from behind enemy lines. Doss became the first Conscientious Objector in American history to be awarded the Medal of Honor.

Previously announced honorees for this year’s show include: “Hollywood Career Achievement Award,” Eddie Murphy; “Hollywood Actor Award,” Tom Hanks; “Hollywood Blockbuster Award,” “The Jungle Book”; “Hollywood Animation Award,” “Zootopia”; “Hollywood Breakthrough Director Award,” Tom Ford; “Hollywood Producer Award,” Marc Platt; “Hollywood Screenwriter Award,” Kenneth Lonergan; “Hollywood Cinematography Award,” Linus Sandgren; “Hollywood Film Composer Award,” Mychael Danna; “Hollywood Editor Award,” John Gilbert; “Hollywood Visual Effects Award,” Stephane Ceretti and Richard Bluff; “Hollywood Sound Award,” Christopher Boyes and Frank Eulner; “Hollywood Costume Design Award,” Albert Wolsky; “Hollywood Make Up & Hair Styling Award,” Shane Thomas, Angela Conte, Bec Taylor and Noriko Waztanabe; and “Hollywood Production Design Award,” Wynn Thomas.

Additional honorees for the 20th Annual Hollywood Film Awards will be announced in the coming weeks.

The 20th Annual Hollywood Film Awards are presented by Virginia Black. Virginia Black. Rich. Decadent. Smooth. Whiskey redefined.

CHEAT TWEET: Mel Gibson to be honored with the “Hollywood Director Award” at the 20th Annual @HollywoodAwards: #HFAs

Twitter: @HollywoodAwards
Instagram: @hollywoodawards
Snapchat: hollywoodawards

About dick clark productions
dick clark productions (dcp) is the world’s largest producer and proprietor of televised live event entertainment programming, with the “Academy of Country Music Awards,” “American Country Countdown Awards,” “American Music Awards,” “Billboard Music Awards,” “Dick Clark’s New Year’s Rockin’ Eve with Ryan Seacrest,” “Hollywood Film Awards” and the “Streamy Awards.” Weekly television programming includes “So You Think You Can Dance,” from 19 Entertainment, a division of CORE Media Group and dcp. dcp also owns one of the world’s most unique and extensive entertainment archive libraries, with more than 55 years of award-winning shows, historic programs, specials, performances and legendary programming. For additional information, visit


The Hollywood Film Awards®, founded in 1997, were created to celebrate Hollywood and launch the awards season. The recipients of the awards are selected by an Advisory Team for their body of work and/or a film(s) that is to be released during the calendar year. For additional information, visit

PR Contacts:

Slate PR:
Andy Gelb 310-461-0111
Elyse Weissman 310-461-0114

dick clark productions:
Liz Morentin 310-255-4602
Gina Sorial 310-255-0308



Doing our best to bring you "The Pulse of New Hollywood®." Follow us @hollywoodnews

Follow us

Breaking Hollywood News   


Comments are closed.