The Directors Guild of America rewards Damien Chazelle for “La La Land”

Over the weekend, a trio of big precursors announced their winners. Specifically, it was late Saturday night and the precursors in question were the Directors Guild of America, the American Society of Cinematographers, and the Annie Awards. They continue to move this season along towards its end point. There’s still some big precursors coming our way, though these were notable in their own right, especially DGA, which is one of the biggest each season. Two of the three went as expected, while one provided an upset. Read on to see which was which, and sit tight for more precursors in the final days and weeks before the big show…

Of main note were Damien Chazelle continuing his all but undefeated run with a win at the DGA awards. He’s now all but a lock in Best Director at the Oscars. The ASC result was a bit surprising though, as Lion and Greig Fraser pulled the upset over Linus Sandgren and La La Land. Beware predicting the upset in Best Cinematography, as this guild and the Academy only sporadically cross over. We also had the Annie Awards, which ended up basically a sweep for Zootopia, as expected. Chazelle and Zootopia continued their dominant streaks, while Fraser is going to make things interesting on Oscar night. That’s the long and short of it here, though if you want some interesting trivia, Chazelle is now the youngest DGA winner to date. Now, to the full results, which is why you’re here, after all.

Here are the DGA winners:

Outstanding Directorial Achievement in Feature Film: Damien Chazell, “La La Land”

First-Time Feature Film Director: Garth Davis, “Lion”

Documentary: Ezra Edelman, “O.J.: Made in America”

Dramatic Series: Miguel Sapochnik, “Game of Thrones,” “The Battle of the Bastards”

Comedy Series: Becky Martin, “Veep,” “Inauguration”

Movie for Television or Miniseries: Steven Zaillian, “The Night Of,” “The Beach”

Variety/Talk/News/Sports-Regularly Scheduled Programming: Don Roy King, “Saturday Night Live”

Variety/Talk/News/Sports – Special: Glenn Weiss, “The 70th Annual Tony Awards”

Reality Programs: J. Rupert Thompson, “American Grit,” “The Finale Over the Falls”

Children’s Programs: Tina Mabry, “An American Girl Story – Melody 1963: Love Has to Win”

Commercials: Derek Cianfrance (RadicalMedia)
Chase, Nike Golf – Wieden + Kennedy Portland
Doubts, Powerade – Wieden + Kennedy Portland
Manifesto, Squarespace – Anomaly

Frank Capra Achievement Award: Marie Cantin
Robert B. Aldrich Service Award: Thomas Schlamme
Presidents Award: Jay D. Roth
Lifetime Achievement Award: Ridley Scott

Here also are the results from the ASC ceremony:

Theatrical Release
“Lion” (Greig Fraser, ASC)

Regular Series for Non-Commercial Television
“Game of Thrones” – “Battle of the Bastards” (Fabian Wagner)

Regular Series for Commercial Television
“Mr. Robot” – “” (Tod Campbell)

Movie, Miniseries, or Pilot for Television
“The Night Of” – “Subtle Beast” (Igor Martinovic)

“House of Others” (Gorgka Gomez Andreu, AEC)

Lifetime Achievement Award
Edward Lachman, ASC

Board of Governors Award
Denzel Washington

Career Achievement in Television Award
Ron Garcia, ASC

International Award
Philippe Rousselot, ASC, AFC

Presidents Award
Nancy Schreiber, ASC

Bud Stone Award of Distinction
Frank Kay, Bruce Burke

ASC Vilmos Zsigmond Heritage Award Winners
Undergraduate: Emmett Sutherland (“Closer”)
Graduate: Andrew Jeric, “Prisoner”

ASC Haskell Wexler Student Documentary Award
Colin F. Shepherd (“Into the Microscope”)

Finally, the Annie Awards victors:

Best Animated Feature
Walt Disney Animation Studios

Best Animated Special Production
“Pear Cider and Cigarettes”
Massive Swerve Studios and Passion Pictures Animation

Best Animated Short Subject
Pixar Animation Studios

Best Animated Television/Broadcast Commercial
“Loteria ‘Night Shift’”
Passion Pictures Ltd

Best General Audience Animated Television/Broadcast Production
“Bob’s Burgers”
Episode: Glued, Where’s My Bob?
Bento Box Entertainment

Best Animated Television/Broadcast Production for Preschool Children
“Tumble Leaf”
Episode: Mighty Mud Movers / Having a Ball
Amazon Studios and Bix Pix Entertainment

Best Animated Television/Broadcast Production for Children
“Adventure Time”
Episode: Bad Jubies
Bix Pix Entertainment Cartoon Network Frederator Studios

Best Animated Feature-Independent
“The Red Turtle”
Studio Ghibli, Wild Bunch, Why Not Productions

Best Student Film
Director: Andreas Feix
Filmakademie Baden-Wuerttemberg

Animated Effects in an Animated Feature Production
Marlon West, Erin V. Ramos, Blair Pierpont, Ian J. Coony, John M. Kosnik
Walt Disney Animation Studios

Animated Effects in a Live Action Production
“Doctor Strange,” Mirror Dimension
Georg Kaltenbrunner, Michael Marcuzzi, Thomas Bevan, Andrew Graham, Jihyun Yoon
Marvel Studios

Character Animation in a Television/Broadcast Production
Mike Chaffe
“Dreamworks Trollhunters”
Episode: Becoming, Part 1
DreamWorks Animation Television

Character Animation in a Feature Production
Jan Maas
“Kubo and the Two Strings”

Character Animation in a Live Action Production
Andrew R. Jones, Peta Bayley, Gabriele Zucchelli, Benjamin Jones
“The Jungle Book”
Walt Disney Pictures

Character Animation in a Video Game
Jeremy Yates, Almudena Soria, Eric Baldwin, Paul Davies, Tom Bland
“Uncharted 4: A Theif’s End”
Naughty Dog

Character Design in a TV/Broadcast Production
Victor Maldonado, Alfredo Torres, Jules Rigolle
“Dreamworks Trollhunters”
Episode: Win, Lose or Draal
DreamWorks Animation Television

Character Design in an Animated Feature Production
Cory Loftis
Walt Disney Animation Studios

Directing in an Animated TV/Broadcast Production
Patrick Osborne
Google Spotlight Stories/Evil Eye Pictures

Directing in an Animated Feature Production
Byron Howard, Rich Moore
Walt Disney Animation Studios

Music in a TV/Broadcast Production
Scot Stafford, Alexis Harte, JJ Wiesler
Google Spotlight Stories/Evil Eye Pictures

Music in an Animated Feature Production
Hans Zimmer, Richard Harvey, Camille
“The Little Prince”
Netflix and On Animation Studios

Production Design in an Animated TV/Broadcast Production
Tuna Bora
Google Spotlight Stories/Evil Eye Pictures

Production Design in an Animated Feature Production
Nelson Lowry, Trevor Dalmer, August Hall, Ean McNamara
“Kubo and the Two Strings”

Storyboarding in a TV/Broadcast Production
Hyunjoo Song
“DreamWorks Trollhunters”
Episode: Win, Lose or Draal
DreamWorks Animation Television

Storyboarding in an Animated Feature Production
Dean Wellins
Walt Disney Animation Studios

Voice Acting in an Animated TV/Broadcast Production
Carlos Alazraqui as Ponce de LeÛn
“The Mr. Peabody & Sherman Show”
Episode: Ponce de LeÛn
DreamWorks Animation Television

Voice Acting in an Animated Feature Production (Tie)
Auli’i Cravalho as Moana in “Moana” (Walt Disney Animation Studios)
Jason Bateman as Nick Wilde in “Zootopia” (Walt Disney Animation Studios)

Writing in an Animated TV/Broadcast Production
Lizzie Molyneux, Wendy Molyneux
“Bob’s Burgers”
Episode: The Hormone-iums
Bento Box Entertainment

Writing in an Animated Feature Production
Jared Bush, Phil Johnston
Walt Disney Animation Studios

Editorial in a TV/Broadcast Production
Illya Owens
“Disney Mickey Mouse”
Episode: Sock Burglar
Disney Television Animation

Editorial in an Animated Feature Production
Christopher Murrie
“Kubo and the Two Strings”

Stay tuned for more guild awards in the weeks to come!

About Joey Magidson

A graduate of Stony Brook University (where he studied Cinema and Cultural Studies), resides in Brooklyn, New York. He contributes to several other film-related websites and is a member of the Broadcast Film Critics Association.

Follow us

Breaking Hollywood News   


Comments are closed.