James Caan: Will miss you old friend.                Johnny Depp Congratulations!                Ray Liotta: Rest in Peace good friend.                Peace and Love!                The 2022 Oscar Winners and Nominees                2022 Screen Actors Guild Awards: And the Winners are...                2022 Annual Oscar Nominees                Sidney Poitier: “One of Hollywood’s Greatest Legends.”                The Power of HOPE: One person can change the world by giving people HOPE! Washington, Lincoln, Martin Luther King Jr. , Mandela, Mother Teresa, Malala                2021 CRITICS CHOICE AWARDS                78th Venice International Film Festival                "Parallel Mothers" by Pedro Almodóvar. Starring Penelope Cruz                Cannes: 2021 Film Winners                "PIG" Starring Nicolas Cage                Casanova, Last Love        

ASC Nominations Cite “1917,” “The Irishman,” And More

Moments ago, the American Society of Cinematographers announced their latest crop of nominations. They’re among the strongest predictors of what the five nominees at the Academy Awards will be in Best Cinematography, so pay attention to them. Also, we saw earlier this week the Casting Society of America chime in, so we can update our precursors today!

First up, the American Society of Cinematographers let loose with their 34th annual ASC nominations. Oscar doesn’t always correlate five for five here, but these contenders just got a real leg up in the race that’s for sure. So, take a look below and expect at least three (Roger Deakins for 1917, Rodrigo Prieto for The Irishman, and Robert Richardson for Once Upon a Time in Hollywood), and likely four (don’t sleep on Lawrence Sher for Joker), of these cinematographers to be among the next crop of DP nominees at the Academy Awards.

Here are the ASC nominees:

1917 – Roger Deakins
Ford v Ferrari – Phedon Papamichael
The Irishman – Rodrigo Prieto
Joker – Lawrence Sher
Once Upon a Time in Hollywood – Robert Richardson

Spotlight Award

Honey Boy – Natasha Braier
The Lighthouse – Jarin Blaschke
Monos – Jasper Wolf

Also, this week saw the Casting Society of America release their 35th annual Artios Awards nominations.

Here are the CSA nominees:


Abominable – Christi Soper Hilt
Frozen 2 – Jamie Sparer Roberts, Sarah Raoufpur (Associate)
The Lion King – Sarah Halley Finn, Jason B. Stamey (Associate)
How to Train Your Dragon: The Hidden World – Christi Soper Hilt
Toy Story 4 – Kevin Reher, Natalie Lyon

Big Budget – Comedy

Dolemite Is My Name – Mary Vernieu, Lindsay Graham Ahanonu
Hustlers – Gayle Keller
Knives Out – Mary Vernieu, Angela Peri (Location Casting), Brett Howe (Associate)
Rocketman – Reginald Poerscot-Edgerton
Uncut Gems – Francine Maisler

Big Budget – Drama

1917 – Nina Gold
The Irishman – Ellen Lewis, Kate Sprance (Associate)
Joker – Shayna Markowitz
Little Women – Francine Maisler, Kathy Driscoll-Mohler, Douglas Aibel (Location Casting), Carolyn Pickman (Location Casting)
Once Upon a Time… in Hollywood – Victoria Thomas

Studio or Independent – Comedy

Brittany Runs A Marathon – Laura Rosenthal, Maribeth Fox
The Dead Don’t Die – Ellen Lewis, Kate Sprance (Associate)
The Farewell – Leslie Woo
Jojo Rabbit – Des Hamilton
Late Night – Laura Rosenthal, Maribeth Fox, Kimberly Ostroy (Associate)
Poms – Mary Vernieu, Marisol Roncali, Meagan Lewis (Location Casting)

Studio or Independent – Drama

Harriet – Kim Coleman, Erica Arvold (Location Casting), Anne Chapman (Location Casting), Meghan Apostoles (Associate)
Honey Boy – Chelsea Ellis Bloch, John Papsidera
Judy – Fiona Weir, Alice Searby
Marriage Story – Francine Maisler, Douglas Aibel, Kathy Driscoll-Mohler (Associate)
Waves – Avy Kaufman, Mark Mullen (Location Casting)

Low Budget – Comedy or Drama

Clemency – Kerry Barden, Paul Schnee, Roya Semnanian (Associate)
Diane – Jodi Angstreich
The Last Black Man in San Francisco – Julia Kim, Nina Henninger (Location Casting)
Skin – Jodi Angstreich, Laura Rosenthal, Maribeth Fox
Them That Follow – John McAlary, Orly Sitowitz

Micro Budget – Comedy or Drama

Low Tide – Susan Shopmaker, Lois Drabkin
Mickey and the Bear – Avy Kaufman
Skin in the Game – Matthew Lessall
The True Don Quixote – Stephanie Holbrook, Ryan Glorioso (Location Casting), Justin Coulter (Associate)
The Wind – Meg Morman, Sunday Boling

The Zeitgeist Award

Avengers: EndGame – Sarah Halley Finn, Chase Paris (Location Casting), Tara Feldstein Bennett (Location Casting), Jason B. Stamey (Associate)
It Chapter 2 – Rich Delia, Stephanie Gorin (Location Casting), Coco Kleppinger (Associate)
Star Wars: The Rise of Skywalker – Nina Gold, April Webster, Alyssa Weisberg, Angela Young (Associate)

First held in 1985, the Artios Awards honor Casting Directors in more than 20 different categories encompassing film, television and theatre. In addition, special honorees are selected for their contributions to the craft. Nominees and winners are voted on by members in good standing of the Casting Society of America. Key dates are below and nominations and additional information will be announced in the coming months.

Stay tuned for more precursors in the coming days!

About Joey Magidson

A graduate of Stony Brook University (where he studied Cinema and Cultural Studies), resides in Brooklyn, New York. He contributes to several other film-related websites and is a member of the Broadcast Film Critics Association.

Follow us

Breaking Hollywood News   


Comments are closed.